AMD vs Nvidia: which is better mining?

AMD vs Nvidia: which is better mining?

AMD OR NVIDIA: CHOOSE THE CARD BY ALGORITHM

When choosing a particular brand of video card, you must first of all focus on the algorithm on which the cryptocurrency operates. This is due to the fact that they manifest themselves in different ways when working with different coins.

For example, AMD cards do a better job with the DaggerHashimoto and CryptoNight algorithms, while Nvidia is more suitable for Equihash and NeoScrypt. But this correlation does not work 100%. Even within the same series, there are different models, so their hashrate will always be different. The best thing is to determine the efficiency of work in practice or with the help of special calculators for mining profit.

For a better understanding of which card, AMD or Nvidia, to choose, we offer you a comparison table where we will consider the hash rates for two different cards - NVIDIA GTX 1060 and AMD R9 380. They have approximately the same declared performance.

Algorithm
NVIDIA GTX 1060

AMD R9 380
NeoScrypt0.70.27
Lyra2REv221.96.2
DaggerHashimoto20.1318
Decred1.820.66
CryptoNight0.420.48
Lbry0.190.04
Equihash281.69168.45
Pascal0.660.55

AMD OR NVIDIA: POWER CONSUMPTION

Another equally important indicator for a video card is the power consumption indicator. In addition to the hash rate, it must be taken into account. For example, let's take all the same cards NVIDIA GTX 1060 and AMD R9 380. The first consumes about 120 watts in the drain, and the second - about 190 watts. We get that, in addition to winning the hash rate on Nvidia cards, we also get a gain in power consumption.

It is worth noting that older AMD models always consumed much more power than cards from Nvidia, but with the latest series the situation has changed - the existing models are on par with the competitors, and in some cases even outperformed them.

AMD OR NVIDIA: MEMORY

For the mining of most coins, the amount of memory of the video card does not matter, but, for example, for the mining of cryptocurrencies on DaggerHashimoto, it plays one of the most important roles. Therefore, we will definitely carry out a comparison according to this characteristic. The NVIDIA GTX 1060 in question has 3 GB on board, while the AMD R9 380 has 2 GB. Again, cards from Nvidia are in the lead.

Conclusion:
All the above data allow us to assess the situation only as a whole, but, in fact, it is impossible to completely protect yourself from using AMD or Nvidia cards. While Nvidia's products are more versatile and efficient, they come at a higher cost. In turn, some models from AMD are also not inferior to their competitors, for example, the Radeon Vega 64 is completely capable of mining coins on any algorithm with a high hash rate. In addition, the vast majority of cards from this manufacturer are more affordable.

The ideal option for arranging a farm is a 50 to 50 scheme. You should run two farms at once with different card companies. This will allow you to be immediately ready for the release of new coins on various algorithms. But sticking cards of different types into one farm is not worth it - this can lead to frequent bugs and hardware conflicts, which will negatively affect performance.

AMD или Nvidia: что майнит лучше?

AMD или Nvidia: что майнит лучше?

AMD ИЛИ NVIDIA: ВЫБИРАЕМ КАРТУ ПО АЛГОРИТМУ

Выбирая ту или иную марку видеокарты, необходимо в первую очередь ориентироваться на алгоритм, на котором функционирует криптовалюта. Обусловлено это тем, что они по-разному проявляют в себя в работе с различными монетами.

Например, карточки AMD лучше справляются с работой на алгоритме DaggerHashimoto и  CryptoNight, а для Equihash и NeoScrypt больше подходят Nvidia. Но подобная кореляция работает не на 100%. Даже в рамках одной серии имеются различные модели, поэтому их хешрейт всегда будет отличаться. Лучше всего – определять эффективность работы на практике или при помощи специальных калькуляторов для профита майнинга.

Для лучшего понимания, какую карту, AMD или Nvidia, выбрать, предлагаем вам сравнительную таблицу, где рассмотрим показатели хешрейта для двух различных карт — NVIDIA GTX 1060 и AMD R9 380. Они имеют примерно одинаковую заявленную производительность.

Алгоритм
NVIDIA GTX 1060

AMD R9 380
NeoScrypt0.70.27
Lyra2REv221.96.2
DaggerHashimoto20.1318
Decred1.820.66
CryptoNight0.420.48
Lbry0.190.04
Equihash281.69168.45
Pascal0.660.55

AMD ИЛИ NVIDIA: ЭНЕРГОПОТРЕБЛЕНИЕ

Еще один не менее важный показатель для видеокарты – показатель энергопотребления. Помимо хешрейта его обязательно следует учитывать. Для примера возьмем все те же карты NVIDIA GTX 1060 и AMD R9 380. Первая потребляет около 120 Вт в стоке, а вторая – около 190 Вт. Получаем, что, помимо выигрыша в хешрейте на картах Nvidia, мы получаем еще и выигрыш по энергопотреблению.

Стоит отметить, что более старые модели AMD всегда потребляли намного большее количество энергии, чем карты от Nvidia, но с последними сериями ситуация изменилась – существующие модели поровнялись с конкрентами, а в некоторых случаях даже обошли их в лучшую сторону.

AMD ИЛИ NVIDIA: ПАМЯТЬ

Для майнинга большинства монет не имеет никакого значения объем памяти видеокарты, но, например, для добычи криптовалют на DaggerHashimoto он играет одну из наиболее важных ролей. Поэтому обязательно проведем сранение и по данной характеристике. У рассматриваемой NVIDIA GTX 1060 на борту 3 Гб, а у AMD R9 380 – 2 Гб. Опять же карты от Nvidia в лидерах.

Вывод:
Все вышеописанные данные позволяют оценить ситуацию лишь в целом, но, на самом деле, абсолютно оградить себя от использования карт AMD или Nvidia – нельзя. Хоть продукция от Nvidia и является более универсальной и эффективной, она имеет более высокую стоимость. В свою очередь некоторые модели от AMD тоже не уступают своим конкурентам, например, Radeon Vega 64 и вовсе свпособна майнить монеты на любом алгоритме с высоким хешрейтом. Кроме того, в подавляющем большинстве карты этого производителя более доступны.

Идеальным вариантом для обустройства фермы является схема – 50 на 50. Следует запускать сразу две фермы с различными фирмами карт. Это позволит вам сразу быть готовым к выходу новых монет на различных алгоритмах. Но совать карты различных типов в одну ферму не стоит – это может привести к частым багам и конфликтам оборудования, что негативно скажется на производительности.