Hive OS analogues, their features and advantages: top-4

Hive OS analogues, their features and advantages: top-4

The profitability of crypto mining depends not only on the computing power of the equipment. The GPU farm owner needs to optimize the mining process. And here a lot depends on the operating system.

Novice miners usually use Windows, it is a fairly simple and convenient platform with a wide range of supported software and a user-friendly graphical interface. If a miner has one small rig and is constantly at home, then he seems to be fine.

However, in fact, Windows is not the most optimal, although not the worst, version of the mining operating system. At least when compared with the usual LINUX, on the basis of which it is more difficult to launch the mining of digital coins. However, why bother yourself, there are ready-made versions of Linux, sharpened specifically for mining.

Probably all users who are in the slightest degree interested in crypto mining have heard about the operating system Hive OS... It is the best Ubuntu based mining operating system. But there are many alternatives. The topic of our today's review is the analogs of Hive OS, their features and advantages.

Linux operating systems

Is it worth switching to Linux? At first glance, it seems that no. It is easier to work with Windows, almost all crypto-mining utilities and electronic wallets are produced for it. And if you do not pay attention to the fact that the lion's share of copies of the operating system from Microsoft are pirated, then everything is fine.

Best operating system

NamePositive sidesDisadvantagesPrice
Hive OSEasy launch and setup, intuitive interface. Decent set of coins and supported miners. Regular updates. Rig control using a mobile app. Custom firmware for ASIKs.There is none of them. The only thing worth noting is the quick failure of the media if you work from a flash drive. Therefore, it is recommended to use an SSD or HDD.You can run a maximum of 4 mining farms for free, regardless of the number of cards in each of them (for 1 ETH / ETC farm). If you pay more farms 3 $ per month, if you mine on the HiveON pool, you will not be charged.
RaveOSEasy installation using a worker token. Convenience of setting up and controlling equipment. Mobile app and email notifications. Custom software for ASIC miners.Some users complain about crashes and frequent reboots. The free version is limited in functionality.One farm is free, from 2 to 100 $ 2 per month for one farm, regardless of the number of devices in each of them.
SimpleMiningAn advanced mining software similar to Nicehashminer in many ways. Works on Windows, macOS, Ubuntu. Automatically switches to the most favorable currency.The minimum withdrawal threshold is 0,002 BTC ($ 116).Free.
Cudo minerCompatible with any video card. User-friendly interface and responsive support service.The official support works only in English.The first 30 days are free, then $ 2 for the rig.

Hive OS

Hive OS analogues, their features and advantages: top-4

Hive OS is a versatile, secure and stable cryptocurrency mining platform. It is based on the Linux Ubuntu distribution. The system supports mining on ASICs, GPU rigs and CPUs. Hive OS has its own pool where you can mine ETH and ETC (many other pools are also supported). In addition, the platform offers custom firmware for ASICs - Hiveon ASIC. 

Pros:

  • Bulk worker management;
  • Remote management of workers;
  • Monitoring of hash rate, power consumption, temperature, statuses and errors of miners, etc .;
  • Temperature and hash rate controllers;
  • Autofan function provides automatic temperature control;
  • The ability to overclock rigs;
  • The ability to combine AMD and NVIDIA cards in one rig;
  • Switching between flight lists (different combinations of pools, wallets, miners and coins) takes only a couple of seconds;
  • Regular update of the list of miners;
  • Telegram or Discord notifications;
  • There is a mobile application;
  • Easy to install, configure and use - you don't need any programming skills or experience to use Hive OS;
  • 24/7 support;
  • Hiveon ASIC firmware users can use Hive OS for free.

Cons:

  • The Hive OS mobile app is convenient, but slightly different from the web version - not all features are available.

Rave OS

Hive OS analogues, their features and advantages: top-4

Rave OS also supports mining on ASICs, rigs and CPUs.

You can manage 1 worker with any number of GPUs for free. The functionality of the system will be limited: the Grant access function is not available, statistics are stored for 3 days (electricity report, Notifications)

Let's take a closer look at its pros and cons:

Pros:

  • The ability to overclock video cards;
  • Ability to use templates for quick and easy customization;
  • The ability to combine devices into groups for easier management;
  • Monitoring of temperature, power consumption, fan speed, etc .;
  • Overclocking capability;
  • One-click configuration of popular pools;
  • Notifications.

Cons:

  • If you have more than one active worker in your account on any of the pools (except 2miners), you automatically become a paid user.
  • The free version is limited in functionality.

SimpleMining

Hive OS analogues, their features and advantages: top-4

SimpleMining is a platform for GPU rig owners. The system works only with AMD and NVIDIA video cards, mining on ASIKs is not supported. 

Pros:

  • Overclocking and downvolting functions;
  • The ability to perform actions in bulk;
  • Lots of miners to choose from, plus the ability to add a custom miner;
  • Monitoring of hash rate, temperature, etc .;
  • Statistics graphs;
  • Telegram notifications;
  • Remote access capability;
  • Automatic updates;
  • Round the clock support.

Cons:

  • Not suitable for ASIK mining;
  • You cannot combine AMD and NVIDIA cards in the same rig.

Cudo miner

Hive OS analogues, their features and advantages: top-4

Cudo Miner is another platform dedicated to cryptocurrency mining. It is compatible with Windows, Linux and CudoOS. Cudo Miner allows you to mine on ASICs, GPUs and CPUs.

Pros:

  • Ease of use;
  • Automatic switching between coins;
  • Overclocking function;
  • Remote control capability;
  • Possibility of custom settings;
  • Automatic mining capability;
  • Monitoring of hash rate, temperature and other indicators.

Cons:

  • At the moment (April 2021), the platform only supports two ASIK models: Antminer S9 and Antminer T17;
  • The commission depends on the amount of cryptocurrency that you have mined in the last 30 days.

How do I choose software?

When choosing software, first of all focus on your own needs and hardware - the platform must be compatible with your current devices. However, a more effective choice would be a universal platform compatible with both rigs and ASIKs. This way, if your farm consists of two types of devices, you do not have to purchase two separate systems.

Universal software will fit your entire farm (remember to make sure your graphics card or ASIC models are on the list of supported hardware). Beyond that, consider the features of the software and its cost.

Each platform mentioned in this article has its pros and cons, but Hive OS seems to be the most versatile and convenient option. The system is suitable for both rigs and ASICs, and allows you to combine AMD and NVIDIA cards in one rig. In addition, it has many useful features, and their list is regularly updated.

The main differences from Windows

Hive OS analogues, their features and advantages: top-4

At first glance, Windows is easier to use than Hive OS and others. But that's only if you have a budget rig next to the bed or in the next room. But if the farm is in a separate non-residential building. Imagine that, waking up on one cold January night, using a mobile monitoring application, you find that the hash rate has dropped to zero, or you urgently need to switch to another, profitable coin.

Those who use Windows will have to get dressed and stomp into the garage in a thirty-degree frost. Of course, software for remote control on windows has been developed, but it is paid, difficult to set up and released by third-party developers. But if a hive or another axis is installed, you can restart the rig without getting out of bed. Better yet, enable Hashrate Watchdog, if the hashrate drops, the utility will overload the miner or rig. Linux-based mining platforms are able to:

  • Change crypto-mining utilities and algorithms remotely and immediately, without waiting for the OS to restart.
  • Work not only from a hard drive or SSD, but also from a USB flash drive.
  • Connect more than 10 graphics adapters to one farm.
  • Manage GPU or ASICS devices in one panel.

And most importantly, Hive OS and other Linuxoids are stress-resistant, which means that the farm will bring more profit, because it will not be idle. The developers are constantly improving and updating the operating system, and the fees are not that high.

Advantages and disadvantages

Hive OS analogues, their features and advantages: top-4

By separating the system kernel from the installed programs, Linux is more stable and practically unkillable. Applications interact with the kernel using protocols and the failure of one application does not affect the overall functionality of the system.

In addition, Linux is much more flexible. A whole army of enthusiasts is working on finding and fixing flaws in Linux applications. Every trained programmer can prepare and implement his own Linux modification. Therefore, there are so many versions of specialized miner operating systems.

If you are using Linux, then you do not care about the licensing issue. All distributions are freely available. Most mining assemblies are shareware too. They don't take money from small miners at all, you need to pay only for connecting several farms.

Remote monitoring and control of the rig is much easier on Linux. You can quickly intervene in the process of crypto mining, being tens of kilometers from the mining installation, having received a notification on one of the messengers of your smartphone.

If you get a motherboard with the required number of PCIE slots, you can build a mega-rig for 12 cards... On Windows, such a combine will not work.

The disadvantage of working on Linux is the need for a preliminary study of the functionality. You need to understand the features of the platform and only then install programs and launch a mining farm. Please note that Linux does not tolerate sloppy hardware assembly, a poorly connected contact or other similar bug here will immediately cause a problem. Well, as for the selection of software, then, as we have already said, it is easier to download and install a ready-made operating system with a set of embedded programs.

Conclusion

The cryptoindustry continues to develop at a rapid pace, the rate of popular coins and altcoins of the second tier is growing. New blockchain projects and mining software appear.

But government agencies are not asleep and are persistently trying to establish control over this segment of the market. Miners using Linux-based operating systems are insured against piracy charges. Master Hive not that difficult. Try it and don't want to go back to Windows. Happy mining!

Аналоги Hive OS, их особенности и преимущества: топ-4

Аналоги Hive OS, их особенности и преимущества: топ-4

Рентабельность криптодобычи зависит не только от вычислительной мощности оборудования. Владельцу GPU-фермы нужно оптимизировать процесс майнинга. И здесь многое зависит от операционной системы.

Начинающие майнеры обычно используют Windows, это довольно простая и удобная платформа с большим ассортиментом поддерживаемого софта и удобным графическим интерфейсом. Если майнер имеет один небольшой риг и, постоянно сидит дома, то ему вроде бы и так хорошо.

Однако, на самом деле Виндовс не самый оптимальный хотя и не самый плохой вариант майнинговой операционной системы. По крайней мере, если сравнивать с обычной LINUX, на базе которой запустить добычу цифровых монет сложнее. Однако зачем самому возится, есть уже готовые версии Линукс, заточенные специально под майнинг.

Наверное, все пользователи, мало-мальски интересующиеся добычей крипты, слышали об операционной системе Hive OS. Это самая лучшая, майнинговая операционная система на базе Ubuntu. Но есть много альтернативных вариантов. Тема нашего сегодняшнего обзора аналоги Hive OS, их особенности и преимущества.

Операционные системы на Linux

А стоит ли переходить на Линукс? На первый взгляд кажется, что нет. С Windows работать удобнее проще, под нее выпускаются практически все криптодобывающие утилиты и электронные кошельки. И если не обращать внимания на тот факт, что львиная доля копий операционной системы от Microsoft являются пиратскими то все нормально.

Лучшая операционная система

НазваниеПоложительные стороныНедостаткиЦена
Hive OSЛегкий запуск и настройка, интуитивно понятный интерфейс. Приличный набор монет и поддерживаемых майнеров. Регулярные обновления. Управление ригом с помощью мобильного приложения. Кастомная прошивка для АСИКов.Их нет. Единственное, что стоит отметить это быстрый выход из строя носителя, если работаете с флешки. Поэтому рекомендуется использовать SSD или HDD.Можно бесплатно запустить максимум 4 майнинг-фермы независимо от количества карт в каждой из них (на ETH/ETC 1 ферму). Если ферм больше платите 3$ в месяц, если майнить на HiveON пул, плата не взимается.
RaveOSПростая установка с помощью токена работника. Удобство настройки и управления оборудованием. Мобильное приложение и уведомления по email. Кастомное ПО для ASIC-майнеров.Некоторые пользователи жалуются на сбои и частые перезагрузки. Бесплатная версия ограничена по функционалу.Одна ферма бесплатно, от 2 до 100 2$ в месяц за одну ферму, независимо от числа устройств в каждой из них.
SimpleMiningПродвинутый майнинговый софт, во многом похожий на Nicehashminer. Работает на базе Windows, macOS, Ubuntu. Автоматически переключается на самую выгодную валюту.Минимальный порог вывода 0,002 BTC (116$).Бесплатно.
Cudo MinerСовместимость с любыми видеокартами. Удобный интерфейс и отзывчивая служба поддержки.Официальный саппорт работает только на английском.Первые 30 дней бесплатно, потом 2$ за риг.

Hive OS

Аналоги Hive OS, их особенности и преимущества: топ-4

Hive OS это универсальная, безопасная и стабильная платформа для майнинга криптовалют. Она основана на дистрибутиве Linux Ubuntu. Система поддерживает майнинг на АСИКах, GPU ригах и CPU. У Hive OS есть свой пул, где можно добывать ETH и ETC (множество других пулов также поддерживаются). Помимо этого, платформа предлагает кастомную прошивку для АСИКов — Hiveon ASIC. 

Плюсы:

  • Массовое управление воркерами;
  • Удаленное управление воркерами;
  • Мониторинг хешрейта, энергопотребления, температуры, статусов и ошибок майнеров, и т.д.;
  • Контроллеры температуры и хешрейта;
  • Функция автофана обеспечивает автоматический контроль температуры;
  • Возможность разгона ригов;
  • Возможность объединить карты AMD и NVIDIA в одном риге;
  • Переключение между полетными листами (разные комбинации пулов, кошельков, майнеров и монет) занимает всего пару секунд;
  • Регулярное обновление списка майнеров;
  • Уведомления в Telegram или Discord;
  • Есть мобильное приложение;
  • Легкость установки, настройки и использования — для использования Hive OS вам не нужны навыки и опыт программиста;
  • Поддержка 24/7;
  • Пользователи прошивки Hiveon ASIC могут использовать Hive OS бесплатно.

Минусы:

  • Мобильное приложение Hive OS удобно, но оно слегка отличается от веб-версии — не все функции доступны.

Rave OS

Аналоги Hive OS, их особенности и преимущества: топ-4

Rave OS также поддерживает майнинг на АСИКах, ригах и CPU.

Вы можете управлять 1 воркером с любым количеством графических процессоров бесплатно. Функционал системы будет ограничен: недоступна функция Grant access, статистика хранится 3 дня (отчет по электроэнергии, Notifications)

Рассмотрим подробнее ее плюсы и минусы:

Плюсы:

  • Возможность разгона видеокарт;
  • Возможность использовать шаблоны для быстрой и легкой настройки;
  • Возможность объединять устройства в группы для более простого управления;
  • Мониторинг температуры, энергопотребления, скорости оборотов кулеров, и т.д.;
  • Возможность разгона;
  • Настройка популярных пулов в один клик;
  • Уведомления.

Минусы:

  • Если у вас больше одного активного воркера в вашем аккаунте на любом из пулов (кроме 2miners), вы автоматически становитесь платным пользователем.
  • Бесплатная версия ограничена по функционалу.

SimpleMining

Аналоги Hive OS, их особенности и преимущества: топ-4

SimpleMining это платформа, ориентированная на владельцев GPU ригов. Система работает только с видеокартами AMD и NVIDIA, майнинг на АСИКах не поддерживается. 

Плюсы:

  • Функции разгона и даунвольтинга;
  • Возможность выполнять действия массово;
  • Множество майнеров на выбор, плюс возможность добавить кастомный майнер;
  • Мониторинг хешрейта, температуры, и т.д.;
  • Графики статистики;
  • Уведомления в Telegram;
  • Возможность удаленного доступа;
  • Автоматические обновления;
  • Круглосуточная поддержка.

Минусы:

  • Не подходит для майнинга на АСИКах;
  • Нельзя совмещать карты AMD и NVIDIA в одном риге.

Cudo Miner

Аналоги Hive OS, их особенности и преимущества: топ-4

Cudo Miner — еще одна платформа, предназначенная для майнинга криптовалют. Она совместима с Windows, Linux и CudoOS. Cudo Miner позволяет майнить на АСИКах, GPU и CPU.

Плюсы:

  • Простота использования;
  • Автоматическое переключение между монетами;
  • Функция разгона;
  • Возможность удаленного управления;
  • Возможность кастомных настроек;
  • Возможность автоматического майнинга;
  • Мониторинг хешрейта, температуры и других показателей.

Минусы:

  • На данный момент (апрель 2021), платформа поддерживает только две модели АСИКов: Antminer S9 и Antminer T17;
  • Комиссия зависит от суммы криптовалюты, которую вы добыли за последние 30 дней.

Как выбрать программное обеспечение?

Выбирая программное обеспечение, прежде всего ориентируйтесь на собственные потребности и оборудование — платформа должна быть совместима с вашими текущими устройствами. Впрочем, более эффективным выбором станет универсальная платформа, совместимая как с ригами, так и с АСИКами. Таким образом, если ваша ферма состоит из двух типов устройств, вам не придется приобретать две отдельных системы.

Универсальное программное обеспечение подойдет для всей вашей фермы (не забудьте убедиться, что ваши модели видеокарт или АСИКов находятся в списке поддерживаемого оборудования). Помимо этого, учитывайте функции программного обеспечения и его стоимость.

У каждой платформы, упомянутой в этой статье, есть свои плюсы и минусы, но Hive OS кажется самым универсальным и удобным вариантом. Система подходит и для ригов, и для АСИКов, и позволяет совмещать карты AMD и NVIDIA в одном риге. Кроме того, у неё множество полезных функций, и их список регулярно пополняется

Основные отличия от Windows

Аналоги Hive OS, их особенности и преимущества: топ-4

Операционку Windows по сравнению с Hive OS и др., на первый взгляд, легче использовать. Но это только в том случае, если у вас бюджетный риг, который стоит рядом с кроватью или в соседней комнате. А вот если ферма стоит в отдельном нежилом строении. Представьте, что, проснувшись в одну холодную январскую ночь, обнаружили, с помощью мобильного приложения для мониторинга, что хешрейт упал до нуля, или нужно срочно переключиться на другую, выгодную монету.

Тем, кто использует виндовс, придется одеваться и топать в гараж в тридцатиградусный мороз. Конечно разработан софт для удаленного управления на окнах, но платный, сложный в настройке и выпускается сторонними разработчиками. А вот если установлен хайв или другая ось можно перезапустить риг, не вставая с постели. А еще лучше, включить Hashrate Watchdog, в случае падения хешрейта утилита перегрузит майнер или риг. Платформы для майнинга на базе Линукс умеют:

  • Менять криптодобывающие утилиты и алгоритмы дистанционно и сразу, не дожидаясь перезапуска OS.
  • Работать не только с жесткого диска или SSD, но и с USB-флешки.
  • Подключать свыше 10 графических адаптеров к одной ферме.
  • Управлять GPU-устройствами или ASICS на одной панели.

И главное, Hive ОС и другие линуксоиды устойчивы к стрессам, и, значит, ферма принесет больше прибыли, потому что не будет простаивать. Разработчики постоянно совершенствуют и обновляют операционную систему, а размер оплаты не так уж и высок.

Плюсы и минусы

Аналоги Hive OS, их особенности и преимущества: топ-4

Благодаря отделению системного ядра от инсталлированных программ Линукс более устойчив и практически не убиваем. Приложения взаимодействуют с ядром при помощи протоколов и сбой одного приложения не сказывается на общей функциональности системы.

Кроме того, Линукс обладает намного большей степенью гибкости. Над обнаружением и исправлением недостатков приложений для Линукс, трудится целая армия энтузиастов. Каждый подготовленный программист может подготовить и внедрить свою модификацию Линукс. Поэтому и появилось так много версий специализированных майнерских ОС.

Если вы используете Линукс, то вас не волнует вопрос лицензирования. Все дистрибутивы выложены в свободном доступе. Большинство сборок для майнинга тоже условно-бесплатные. С мелких майнеров денег не берут вообще, платить нужно, только за подключение нескольких ферм.

На Линукс намного проще вести дистанционное наблюдение и управление ригом. Вы можете оперативно вмешиваться в процесс криптодобычи, находясь за десятки километров от майнинг установки, получив уведомление на один из мессенджеров вашего смартфона.

Если достанете материнскую плату с нужным количеством PCIE-слотов, можно собрать мега-риг на 12 карт. На Windows запустить такой комбайн не выйдет.

Недостаток работы на Линукс это необходимость предварительного изучения функционала. Нужно понять особенности работы платформы и только потом устанавливать программы, и запускать майнинг-ферму. Учтите, Линукс не терпит неаккуратной сборки железа, плохо подключенный контакт или другой подобный баг здесь сразу же вызовет проблему. Ну а что касается подбора софта, то, как мы уже говорили, проще скачать и установить готовую операционную систему с набором вшитых программ.

Заключение

Криптоиндустрия продолжает развиваться бурными темпами, растет курс популярных монет и альткоинов второго эшелона. Появляются новые блокчейн-проекты и майнинговый софт.

Но и госструктуры не дремлют и, настойчиво пытаются установить контроль над этим сегментом рынка. Майнеры, использующие ОС на базе Linux, застрахованы от обвинения в пиратстве. Освоить Хайв не так уж трудно. Попробуйте и не пожелаете возвращаться на Windows. Удачного майнинга!