Prices for video cards will rise until the end of 2021

Prices for video cards will rise until the end of 2021

Measures taken by NVIDIA to protect graphics cards from mining only briefly helped to lower prices, and outbreak of COVID-19 in China will slow down production

Video card prices are rising again after a short-term drop. This is the conclusion reached by the analysts of the 3DCenter resource. Experts have compared prices for video cards in Germany since the beginning of the year. It turned out that the measures taken to combat mining on video cards did not have a lasting effect.

For example, it turned out that the AMD RX 6000 and NVIDIA RTX 30 series video cards have risen in price again since July this year. It is noteworthy that the rise in prices for video cards with a slight delay correlates with the rise in prices for cryptocurrencies. So, the graph below shows that the price peak for video cards fell on May.

Prices for video cards will rise until the end of 2021

Bitcoin, for example, peaked (~ $ 65) in mid-April, while ether broke records (~ $ 000) in the first half of May. Analysts emphasize that the trend is visible not only with premium graphics cards. In most cases, the cheapest offers have already disappeared from the market. The lack of budget alternatives will simply deprive a potential buyer of choice.

The situation is also worsened by the outbreak of COVID-19 in China. As previously reported by Videocardz, the production of GeForce RTX 3060 Ti and RTX 3060 video cards will be significantly reduced by the end of September. It is noted that due to a new wave of coronavirus diseases, the authorities are stopping the work of large enterprises.

Moreover, the head of NVIDIA Jen-Hsun Huang predicts that the shortage of video cards will remain until the end of 2022. He stressed that NVIDIA has already taken on part of the commitment to ensure long-term supply. However, demand still exceeds supply due to the global shortage of microcircuits.

Цены на видеокарты будут расти до конца 2021 года

Цены на видеокарты будут расти до конца 2021 года

Принятые NVIDIA меры по защите видеокарт от майнинга лишь ненадолго помогли снизить цены, а вспышка COVID-19 в Китае замедлит производство

Цены на видеокарты снова растут после краткосрочного падения. К такому выводу пришли аналитики ресурса 3DCenter. Эксперты сравнили цены на видеокарты в Германии с начала года. Выяснилось, что принятые меры по борьбе с майнингом на видеокартах не дали продолжительного эффекта.

Например, оказалось, что видеокарты серии AMD RX 6000 и NVIDIA RTX 30 снова дорожают с июля этого года. Примечательно, что рост цен на видеокарты с небольшой задержкой коррелирует с ростом цен на криптовалюты. Так, на графике ниже видно, что ценовой пик на видеокарты пришелся на май.

Цены на видеокарты будут расти до конца 2021 года

Биткоин, например, достиг максимума (~$65 000) в середине апреля, а ether обновил рекорды (~$4385) в первой половине мая. Аналитики подчеркивают, что тенденция видна не только у премиальных видеокарт. В большинстве случаев самые дешевые предложения уже исчезли с рынка. Отсутствие бюджетных альтернатив попросту лишит потенциального покупателя выбора.

Ситуацию также ухудшает вспышка COVID-19 в Китае. Как ранее сообщало издание Videocardz, объемы производства видеокарт GeForce RTX 3060 Ti и RTX 3060 существенно сократятся до конца сентября. Отмечается, что из-за новой волны заболеваний коронавирусом власти останавливают работу крупных предприятий.

Более того, глава NVIDIA Дженсен Хуанг и вовсе прогнозирует сохранение дефицита видеокарт до конца 2022 года. Он подчеркнул, что NVIDIA уже взяла на себя часть обязательств по обеспечению долгосрочных поставок. Впрочем, спрос все еще превышает предложение из-за глобальной нехватки микросхем.