Which is better for mining linux or windows

Which is better for mining linux or windows

Linux for mining

Most of the miners use Windows 7 or 10 software in 32 or 64 bit when assembling farms. At the same time, many users note the insufficient stability of Windows, susceptibility to viruses and hacker attacks, as well as regularly occurring problems with mining clients. As an alternative, experienced "miners" offer Linux mining, in particular, the assembly on Ubuntu is noted.

Comparison of Linux and Windows operating systems

Both operating systems under consideration are capable of efficiently calculating blocks of cryptocurrencies. Basically this is a matter of habit, however, each OS has its pros and cons, and we will dwell on them.

Strengths of Windows:

  • most of the mining clients were written specifically for Windows, so there is more choice;
  • no problem finding drivers for video adapters;
  • supports stable operation of up to 8 GPUs of one manufacturer (for example, crypto mining only on Nvidia), but if there is a bundle of cards from different manufacturers (AMD + Nvidia), then you can connect up to 16 GPUs;
  • easy configuration and familiar graphical interface.
  • Disadvantages of Windows: constant problems with the update service and the defender, which perceives utilities for mining cryptocurrency as unfriendly programs;
  • drivers must be installed sequentially for each video card;
  • a significant part of the resources are diverted to support other OS programs;
  • periodic interruption of remote access via Teamviewer;
  • high susceptibility to hacker attacks and viruses.
  • Pluses of Linux for mining: can see up to 19 video adapters regardless of their manufacturers (up to 8 GPUs on one motherboard);
  • the system is designed for server hardware, therefore it is stable, there are no freezes and frequent reboots during updates;
  • it is convenient for them to control and monitor processes remotely, has flexible settings when overclocking the core and memory frequencies, as well as adjusting timings;
  • the distribution kit with the necessary programs and drivers can be downloaded from a simple flash drive with a volume of at least 8 GB, after downloading the image you can quickly start working (within 10 minutes);
  • lower consumption of electrical energy with a higher hashrate.
Which is better for mining linux or windows

And most importantly, open source operating systems are completely free, they are not bought, and therefore no activation is required for Linux. If the user cannot create his own assembly for mining cryptocurrency based on Linux or Ubuntu, then it can be bought on the network for little money.

Linux mining can cause problems for users who have never worked on open source operating systems and do not want to study the instructions. But in general, the transition to a free OS should not become an obstacle to a serious “miner” who wants to earn more. And mining on Linux Mint 18, an assembly geared specifically for mining digital coins, is generally very similar to working on Windows

What programs are suitable for open source software

Many users agree that "digging" on Linux is more profitable than on Windows, since it is possible to achieve a higher hash rate with less electricity consumption. However, the question is not only about hardware, it is important to choose the right software, including mining clients and cryptocurrency wallets.

Mining Ubuntu and other similar programs is in many ways similar to working on Windows, so developers and community members have created a large number of cross-platform applications suitable for all major operating systems.

For mining cryptocurrency on Ubuntu, it is advised to use trusted wallets

  • Electrum. This wallet has versions not only for Linux, but also for Windows and MacOS.
  • Jaxx. Popular cross-platform multicurrency wallet.
  • Hardware devices for storing digital currency (KeepKey, Trezor, Ledger Nano S or Blue), which, unlike electronic options, will have to be purchased.

As for programs for mining coins on pools, you need to choose from the options that are offered directly on the official sites of communities or download another compatible program on specialized resources. It is preferable to focus on a client that performs a large number of functions: controls the calculation, monitors the rotation of fan blades, equipment temperature, mining hashrate

The most demanded miner for Linux is CG Miner, which is based on open source development for calculating blocks of cryptocurrencies on the CPU Miner. This client is distinguished by its versatility.

  • controls all the main indicators of the equipment;
  • regulates the rotation of coolers;
  • supports and analyzes the functioning of multiple GPUs from different manufacturers;
  • allows you to manage your farm remotely.

Efficient CG Miner algorithm allows you to achieve a higher hashrate than many other mining clients

Of other programs for mining cryptocurrencies on Linux, two more can be distinguished

  • BFGMiner. This is a utility designed for computing on ASIC devices, it is specialized for computing integrated circuits. It provides a complete intelligent analysis of the functioning of the equipment and allows it to be controlled remotely.
  • EasyMiner. This application has a graphical interface and is able to work with both CGMiner and its counterparts. Thanks to its installation, customizing Ubuntu becomes available even for beginners. All processes taking place in the farm are well visualized and understandable. The program allows you to work both in a pool and in solo mode, supports the GetWorkMining and Stratum protocols.

The most up-to-date mining programs for Ubuntu and other Linuxes can be downloaded from the repository using console commands. For new models of video cards, the distributions already contain suitable drivers. If the extraction will take place on outdated models of video adapters, then you will need to look for proprietary drivers on the developer's official website and install them

If the program has a graphical interface, then setting up and connecting to the pool is similar to working with Windows. If you are using console applications, then you need to look on the community site for samples or ready-made solutions for writing a command line

How to mine Ether on Ubuntu

Due to a different algorithm of action and lower support costs for other programs, Linux allows you to achieve a higher hash rate than Windows. Let's take a look at how to use Ubuntu to mine Ethereum as an example.

  • First, you need to take care of creating a suitable cryptocurrency wallet with ETH support and setting it up.
  • Proprietary drivers are then downloaded and installed to work with the Nvidia GPU, or built-in drivers for new video cards are used. Older versions of "firewood" can be found on the Ubuntu repository. After the drivers are installed, you need to restart your PC.
  • Next, we find the Ethminer mining client in GitHub. Download the tar.gz archive, unpack it and copy the program to the / usr / bin / local / folder. After that, we check the potential speed of mining cryptocurrency through OpenGL by typing $ ethminer –M –G on the command line, or in CUDA mode (enter $ ethminer –M –U). The utility will create a separate file and indicate the approximate hashrate value (usually from 20 to 30 Mh / s).
  • The next step is to determine the desired network. The user can now choose between EthereumClassic (ETC crypto) and EthereumCore (ETH coin). The second network is much more complicated, but the coin costs a lot more, so most users choose this option.
  • Next - the choice of the community for mining. Here you need to pay attention to the compliance of your equipment with the pool requirements, the size of the commission, the system for distributing the reward for the calculated block and the number of workers. The most popular for Ether are Dwarfpool, Nanopool, Suprnova, Coinotron, etc.
  • After all the preparatory moments, we start mining by specifying the address of our ETH wallet and the selected community for the ethminer command.

Что лучше для майнинга linux или windows

Что лучше для майнинга linux или windows

Linux для майнинга

Большая часть майнеров при сборке ферм использует программное обеспечение Windows 7 или 10 на 32 или 64 bit. При этом многие пользователи отмечают недостаточную стабильность Винды, подверженность вирусам и хакерским атакам, а также регулярно возникающие проблемы с майнинг клиентами. В качестве альтернативы опытные “шахтеры” предлагают майнинг Linux, в частности, отмечается сборка на Ubuntu

Сравнение операционных систем Linux и Windows

Обе рассматриваемые операционные системы способны эффективно вычислять блоки криптовалют. В основном это дело привычки, однако, каждая ОС имеет свои плюсы и минусы, на них и остановимся

Сильные стороны Windows:

  • основная часть майнинг-клиентов писалась именно под Виндовс, поэтому выбор больше;
  • нет проблем с поиском драйверов для видеоадаптеров;
  • поддерживает стабильную работу до 8 GPU одного производителя (например, добыча крипты только на Nvidia), если же имеет место связка карт разных производителей (AMD + Nvidia), то можно подключить до 16 графических процессоров;
  • простота настройки и привычный графический интерфейс.
  • Недостатки ОС Windows:постоянные проблемы со службой обновлений и защитником, который воспринимает утилиты для добычи криптовалюты, как недружественные программы;
  • драйвера нужно устанавливать последовательно для каждой видеокарты;
  • значительная часть ресурсов отвлекается на поддержку других программ ОС;
  • периодическое прерывание удаленного доступа через Teamviewer;
  • большая подверженность хакерским атакам и вирусам.
  • Плюсы Linux для майнинга:способен видеть до 19 видеоадаптеров независимо от их производителей (до 8 GPU на одной материнке);
  • система разработана для серверного оборудования, поэтому отличается стабильностью, отсутствием зависаний и частых перезагрузок при обновлениях;
  • им удобно управлять и отслеживать процессы удаленно, отличается гибкими настройками при разгоне частот ядра и памяти, а также коррекции таймингов;
  • дистрибутив с нужными программами и драйверами можно загрузить с простой флешки объемом не меньше 8 Гб, после скачивания образа можно быстро начать работу (в течение 10 минут);
  • более низкое потребление электрической энергии при более высоком хешрейте.
Что лучше для майнинга linux или windows

И самое главное, операционные системы с открытым кодом абсолютно бесплатны, их не покупают, и поэтому для Linux не нужна активация. Если пользователь не сможет создать собственную сборку для добычи криптовалюты на основе Линукса или Убунты, то ее можно купить в сети за небольшие деньги.

Майнинг на Linux может вызвать проблемы у пользователей, которые никогда не работали на операционных системах с открытым кодом и не желают изучать инструкции. Но в целом переход на бесплатную ОС не должен стать препятствием серьезному “шахтеру”, который хочет зарабатывать больше. А майнинг на Linux Mint 18, сборке, заточенной специально на добычу цифровых монет, вообще очень схож с работой на Виндовс

Какие программы подходят для ПО с открытым кодом

Многие юзеры сходятся во мнении, что “копать” на Линуксе выгоднее, чем на Винде, поскольку удается достичь большего хешрейта при меньших затратах электричества. Однако вопрос не только в “железе”, важно правильно подобрать необходимые программы, в том числе майнинг-клиенты и криптовалютные бумажники.

Майнинг Ubuntu и других подобных программ во многом схож с работой на Windows, поэтому разработчики и члены сообщества создали большое количество приложений кроссплатформенного характера, подходящих всем основным операционным системам.

Для добычи криптовалюты на Убунту советуют пользоваться проверенными кошельками

  • Electrum. Этот бумажник имеет версии не только под Линукс, но и под Виндовс и МакОС.
  • Jaxx. Популярный кроссплатформенный мультивалютный кошелек.
  • Аппаратные устройства для хранения цифровой валюты (KeepKey, Trezor, Ledger Nano S или Blue), которые, в отличие от электронных вариантов, придется купить.

Что касается программ для добычи монет на пулах, то нужно выбирать из вариантов, которые предлагаются непосредственно на официальных сайтах сообществ или скачать другую совместимую программу на специализированных ресурсах. Предпочтительнее остановиться на клиенте, который выполняет большое количество функций: контролирует вычисление, отслеживает вращение лопастей вентиляторов, температуру оборудования, хешрейт добычи

Наиболее востребованный майнер для Линукс – это CG Miner, основой для которой послужила разработка с открытым кодом для вычисления блоков криптовалют на процессоре CPU Miner. Этот клиент отличается своей многофункциональностью

  • контролирует все основные показатели работы оборудования;
  • регулирует вращение кулеров;
  • поддерживает и анализирует функционирование нескольких графических процессоров разных производителей;
  • позволяет управлять фермой удаленно.

Эффективный алгоритм CG Miner позволяет достигать более высокого hashrate, чем у многих других майнинг клиентов

Из других программ для добычи криптовалют на Линуксе, можно выделить еще две

  • BFGMiner. Это утилита, рассчитанная для вычислений на ASIC-устройствах, она специализирована под вычислительные интегральные схемы. Она обеспечивает полный интеллектуальный анализ функционирования оборудования и позволяет управлять им в удаленном режиме.
  • EasyMiner. Это приложение имеет графический интерфейс и способно работать, как с CGMiner, так и с его аналогами. Благодаря его установке, настройка Ubuntu становится доступна даже начинающим. Все процессы, происходящие в ферме, хорошо визуализированы и понятны. Программа позволяет работать как в составе пула, так и в соло режиме, поддерживает протокола GetWorkMining и Stratum.

Самые актуальные майнинговые программы для Ubuntu и других Линуксов можно загрузить из репозитария посредством консольных команд. Для новых моделей видеокарт в дистрибутивах уже вшиты подходящие драйвера. Если же добыча будет происходить на устаревших моделях видеоадаптеров, то нужно будет на официальном сайте разработчика поискать проприетарные драйвера и установить их

Если в программе есть графический интерфейс, то настройка и подключение к пулу похоже на работу с Windows. Если используются консольные приложения, то нужно поискать на сайте сообщества образцы или уже готовые решения по написанию командной строки

Как майнить Эфир на Убунту

Благодаря иному алгоритму действия и меньшим затратам на поддержку других программ, Линуксы позволяют достичь большего хешрейта, чем на Виндовсе. Рассмотрим для примера, как использовать Ubuntu для майнинга Ethereum

  • Сначала нужно озаботиться созданием подходящего криптовалютного кошелька с поддержкой ETH и его настройкой.
  • Затем скачиваются и устанавливаются проприетарные драйверы для работы с GPU Nvidia или используются встроенные драйвера для новых видеокарт. Более старые версии “дров” можно найти на репозитарии Убунту. После того, как драйвера установлены, нужно перезагрузить ПК.
  • Далее находим в GitHub майнинг клиент Ethminer. Скачиваем архив tar.gz, распаковываем его и копируем программу в папку /usr/bin/local/. После этого проверяем потенциальную скорость добычи криптовалюты через OpenGL, набрав в командной строке $ ethminer –M –G, или в режиме CUDA (вводим $ ethminer –M –U). Утилитой будет создан отдельный файл и указано приблизительное значение hashrate (обычно от 20 до 30 Mh/s).
  • Следующий шаг – определение нужной сети. Сейчас пользователь может выбирать между EthereumClassic (крипта ETC) и EthereumCore (монета ETH). Вторая сеть гораздо сложнее, но и монета стоит намного больше, поэтому большинство юзеров выбирают этот вариант.
  • Далее – выбор сообщества для майнинга. Здесь необходимо обращать внимание на соответствие своего оборудования требованиям пула, размер комиссии, систему распределения вознаграждения за вычисленный блок и количество воркеров. Самыми популярными для Эфира считаются Dwarfpool, Nanopool, Suprnova, Coinotron и др.
  • После всех подготовительных моментов запускаем майнинг, указав для команды ethminer адрес своего ETH-бумажника и выбранного сообщества.