How to choose an online cryptocurrency wallet

How to choose an online cryptocurrency wallet

How to compare the best cryptocurrency wallets

Each client for storing cryptocurrencies has its own advantages and disadvantages. We have highlighted several key criteria for comparing crypto wallets.

The presence of a russified interface

Some blockchain wallets have a complex interface that is difficult for beginners to understand. Russification simplifies perception and avoids additional difficulties when working with a crypto wallet.

Non-custodial storage

Non-custodial clients do not store private keys, passwords and user seed phrases, therefore they are considered the most secure. Control over funds in such crypto wallets belongs entirely to the users themselves.

But custody services have their advantages. For example, they allow you to exchange cryptocurrency for other cryptoassets or fiat directly in your account, and can also support additional functions: staking, depositing at interest, and much more. Before using them, we must accept these risks.

There are hybrid online wallets. For example, the Blockchain.com wallet is non-custodial. Users can make an unlimited number of transactions, but the interface also supports exchange (Swap), deposit and purchase with fiat currencies.

Transparency

By this criterion, we determine whether the program contains open or closed source code. Open source allows third-party developers to audit and identify vulnerabilities if they are present in the client's source code. In other words, open source implies lack of trust in the developer, but closed trust in the development team.

Confidentiality

This item reflects whether the wallet has additional features to improve user anonymity, such as rotating btc addresses, merging crypto transactions, or supporting change addresses.

Intuitive interface

For many novice users, as a rule, basic functionality is sufficient for transferring and receiving coins. They do not need advanced features that burden the client interface and make it difficult to interact with it.

Support for new bitcoin addresses (Segwit)

We indicate whether the crypto wallet is compatible with the new format of SegWit addresses 3 and bech32, which can speed up transactions and approximately halve the cost of transaction fees.

Online cryptocurrency wallets

Web wallets are less secure because they are exposed not only to software attacks, but also to phishing. In some cases, even two-factor authentication does not help, since attackers have learned to intercept this data as well.

However, online cryptocurrency clients are convenient to use, can be accessed from any device connected to the Internet, and allow for fast transactions. Hot clients are useful for those who store and use small amounts of cryptocurrency. In other cases, it is preferable to use hardware, mobile or desktop wallets, which we have repeatedly mentioned in our blog.

Blockchain

best-wallets-32

Blockchain.com (old domain - Blockchain.info) is one of the first and most popular crypto wallets, created in 2011. Despite its popularity, the crypto wallet has security problems. The Cryptonist team is aware of many cases of hacking of Blockchain.com accounts.

Blockchain supports Bitcoin (BTC), Bitcoin Cash (BCH), Ethereum (ETH), Stellar (XLM), and Paxos (now USD Digital). The Blockchain wallet is popular due to its wide functionality: users can exchange cryptocurrencies, crypto loans, deposit at interest and manage multiple accounts. Blockchain Wallet supports a Russian-language interface, but it has been translated into Russian only partially and not always correctly. One of its main drawbacks is incompatibility with SegWit addresses. We have written a detailed review of the Blockchain.com wallet which can be read on our blog.

Coinbase

best-wallets-33

Coinbase provides custody services for storing and exchanging cryptocurrencies. Despite being an online wallet, Coinbase is considered one of the safest crypto wallets as the platform works with institutional clients and is regulated by the US Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) and the Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC).

Security is ensured by authorizing a new device to log into your account using email and 2fa, as well as integration with hardware crypto wallets. Coinbase supports many cryptocurrencies, but only works with legacy bitcoin addresses. Coinbase provides additional 2fa protection for sending transactions.

BitGo

best-wallets-34

BitGo web wallet has minimalistic functionality for working with cryptocurrencies. The company offers services to both individuals and corporate clients. BitGo is focused on user security, so browser and IP authorization is required to log in to an account, as well as mandatory two-factor authentication.

BitGo crypto wallet contains a simple and intuitive web interface, supports more than 10 cryptocurrencies, allows you to manage multiple crypto accounts and connect third-party services for registering taxes or storing private keys, as well as freeze addresses for a specific period. But the interface is only available in English. Each of the created crypto accounts is protected by an additional password.

Coinb.in

best-wallets-35

Coinb.in is a functional, open source, multi-signature web wallet licensed by the MIT. The client contains a tree structure and allows you to create derived keys. These wallets are called HD Wallets or Hierarchically Deterministic.

Coinb.in is a rare representative of browser-based crypto wallets that support the new bech32 SegWit addresses. It uses Javascript to generate addresses and transactions and also works offline.

Strongcoin

best-wallets-36

It is a hybrid bitcoin wallet. The company was founded in 2011 at the dawn of cryptocurrencies, although the crypto wallet is relatively new. StrongCoin stores user keys on the server, but before that they are encrypted in the web browser, so third parties will not be able to access the coins. StrongCoin allows you to buy cryptocurrency using the third party service Glidera.

StrongCoin allows you to create a PDF and print a paper wallet for storing bitcoins with full control of private keys. The crypto wallet has simple but limited functionality and only supports two cryptocurrencies: BTC and BCH.

Cryptopay

best-wallets-37

Cryptopay is a hot bitcoin wallet with advanced functionality and built-in cryptocurrency exchange functions, as reflected in the client's name. When creating an account, Cryptopay asks for personal data, which negatively affects the privacy of users.

The company provides Cryptopay customers with prepaid debit cards for buying BTC and paying with cryptocurrency. There is also an affiliate program to reward users. Cryptopay supports 4 cryptocurrencies: Bitcoin, Ethereum, Litecoin and Ripple, as well as fiat currencies. The main disadvantage of a crypto wallet is custody.

Dappradar

best-wallets-38

MetaMask wallet is created as a browser extension based on Chrome and makes it easy to create crypto accounts. MetaMask is an ERC20 compliant crypto wallet that serves as a bridge between users and decentralized applications (dApps). The plugin supports Ethereum and any tokens created on this blockchain platform. ETH wallets do not support Bitcoin (BTC).

MetaMask supports hardware wallet integration

MyEtherWallet

best-wallets-39

MyEtherWallet or MEW is one of the most popular hot Ethereum wallets created by Ethereum developers. MEW only supports Ether and ERC20 tokens. Previously, the web client interface was quite complex for beginners, but after upgrading to version 5, it was significantly simplified, which I wrote about in this article.

One of the strengths of MyetherWallet is the availability of the MEW Connect mobile app for iOS and Android, which enhances security by pairing a browser client with a mobile device for two-step authentication. MEW allows you to integrate Trezor, Ledger, BitBox02 and KeepKey, and has a Russified interface.

mycrypto

best-wallets-40

MyCrypto is an open source browser-based ERC20 wallet created by the MEW team in 2015. You can connect to MyCpypto using hardware wallets, the Parity Signer app, the MetaMask plugin, and some other crypto wallets. There is a more secure desktop version of the crypto wallet.

With MyCrypto, users can manage their crypto portfolio and track statistics on it. Previously, MyCrypto belonged to MyEtherWallet, but then the development teams split up and a separate crypto wallet was created for Ethereum and tokens based on its platform.

Как выбрать онлайн-кошелек для криптовалюты

Как выбрать онлайн-кошелек для криптовалюты

Как сравниваем лучшие криптовалютные кошельки

У каждого клиента для хранения криптовалют есть свои достоинства и недостатки. Мы выделили несколько ключевых критериев для сравнения криптокошельков.

Наличие русифицированного интерфейса

Некоторые блокчейн-кошельки обладают сложным интерфейсом, в котором трудно разобраться новичкам. Русификация упрощает восприятие и позволяет избежать дополнительных трудностей при работе с криптокошельком.

Некастодиальное хранение

Некастодиальные клиенты не хранят приватные ключи, пароли и seed-фразы пользователей, поэтому считаются наиболее безопасными. Контроль над средствами в таких криптокошельках полностью принадлежит самим пользователям.

Но у кастодиальных сервисов есть свои преимущества. Например, они позволяют обменивать криптовалюту на другие криптоактивы или фиат прямо в аккаунте, а также могут поддерживать дополнительные функции: стейкинг, депонирование под проценты и многое другое. Перех их использованием мы должны принять эти риски.

Существуют гибридные онлайн-кошельки. Например, кошелек Blockchain.com – некастодиальный. Пользователи могут совершать неограниченное количество транзакции, но интерфейс также поддерживает функции обмена (Swap), депонирования и покупку за фиатные валюты.

Прозрачность

По этому критерию определяем, открытый или закрытый исходный код содержит программа. Открытый исходный код позволяет независимым разработчикам проводить аудит и выявлять уязвимости, если они присутствуют в исходниках клиента. Другими словами, открытый код предполагает отсутствие доверия к разработчику, а закрытый доверие к команде разработчиков.

Конфиденциальность

Этот пункт отражает, есть ли у кошелька дополнительные функции для улучшения анонимности пользователей, такие как ротация btc-адресов, объединение криптотранзакций или поддержка адресов для сдачи.

Интуитивный интерфейс

Многим начинающим пользователям, как правило, достаточно базового функционала для перевода и получения монет. Им не нужны расширенные функции, которые нагружают интерфейс клиента и осложняют взаимодействие с ним.

Поддержка новых биткоин-адресов (Segwit)

Указываем, совместим ли криптокошелек с новым форматом SegWit адресов 3 и bech32, которые позволяют ускорить транзакции и примерно в два раза снизить расходы на комиссии за транзакцию.

Онлайн-кошельки для криптовалюты

Веб-кошельки менее безопасны, поскольку подвергаются не только программным атакам, но и фишингу. В некоторых случаях не помогает даже двухфакторная аутентификация, поскольку злоумышленники научились перехватывать и эти данные.

Однако онлайн-клиенты для криптовалют удобно использовать, к ним можно получить доступ с любого устройства, подключенного к Интернету, и они позволяют быстро совершать транзакции. Горячие клиенты полезны тем, кто хранит и использует небольшие суммы в криптовалюте. В остальных случаях предпочтительнее использовать аппаратные, мобильные или десктопные кошельки, о чем мы неоднократно упоминали в нашем блоге.

Blockchain

best-wallets-32

Blockchain.com (старый домен – Blockchain.info) – это один из первых и самых популярных криптокошельков, созданный в 2011 году. Несмотря на свою популярность, криптокошелек имеет проблемы с безопасностью. Команде Cryptonist известно немало случаев взлома аккаунтов Blockchain.com.

Blockchain поддерживает Bitcoin (BTC), Bitcoin Cash (BCH), Ethereum (ETH), Stellar (XLM) и Paxos (ныне USD Digital). Кошелек Blockchain популярен благодаря широкому функционалу: пользователям доступен обмен криптовалют, криптозаймы, депонирование под проценты и управление несколькими счетами. Blockchain Wallet поддерживает русскоязычный интерфейс, но он переведен на русский только частично и не всегда корректно. Один из основных его недостатков – несовместимость с SegWit-адресами. Мы написали подробный обзор кошелька Blockchain.com, который можно прочитать в нашем блоге.

Coinbase

best-wallets-33

Сервис Coinbase предоставляет кастодиальные услуги для хранения и обмена криптовалют. Несмотря на то, что это онлайн-кошелек, Coinbase считается одним из самых безопасных криптокошельков, поскольку платформа сотрудничает с институциональными клиентами и регулируется Комиссией по ценным бумагам и биржам США (SEC), а также Комиссией по торговле товарными фьючерсами (CFTC).

Безопасность обеспечивается за счет авторизации нового девайса для входа в аккаунт с помощью email и 2fa, а также интеграции с аппаратными криптокошельками. Coinbase поддерживает множество криптовалют, но работает только с legacy-адресами биткоина. Coinbase предоставляет дополнительную защиту 2fa для отправки транзакций.

BitGo

best-wallets-34

Веб-кошелек BitGo обладает минималистичным функционалом для работы с криптовалютами. Компания предлагает услуги как физическим лицам, так и корпоративным клиентам. BitGo ориентирован на безопасность пользователей, поэтому для входа аккаунта требуется авторизация браузера и IP, а также обязательная двухфакторная аутентификация.

Криптокошелек BitGo содержит простой и интуитивно понятный веб-интерфейс, поддерживает более 10 криптовалют, позволяет управлять несколькими криптосчетами и подключать сторонние сервисы для регистрации налогов или хранения закрытых ключей, а также замораживать адреса на определенный срок. Но интерфейс доступен только на английском языке. Каждый из созданных криптосчетов защищается дополнительным паролем.

Coinb.in

best-wallets-35

Coinb.in представляет собой функциональный мультиподписной веб-кошелек с открытым исходным кодом и лицензией MIT. Клиент содержит древовидную структуру и позволяет создавать производные ключи. Такие кошельки называют HD Wallet или иерархически детерминированными.

Coinb.in – редкий представитель браузерных криптокошельков, поддерживающих новые SegWit-адреса формата bech32. Он использует язык Javascript для генерации адресов и транзакций, а также работает в автономном режиме.

StrongCoin

best-wallets-36

Это гибридный биткоин-кошелек. Компания основана в 2011 на заре становления криптовалют, хотя криптокошелек является относительно новым. StrongCoin хранит ключи пользователей на сервере, но перед этим они шифруются в веб-браузере, поэтому третьи лица не смогут получить доступ к монетам. StrongCoin позволяет покупать криптовалюту с помощью стороннего сервиса Glidera.

StrongCoin позволяет создать в формате PDF и распечатать бумажный кошелек для хранения биткоинов с полным контролем закрытых ключей. Криптокошелек обладает простым, но ограниченным функционалом и поддерживает только две криптовалюты: BTC и BCH.

Cryptopay

best-wallets-37

Cryptopay – это горячий биткоин-кошелек с расширенным функционалом и встроенными функциями обмена криптовалюты, что отражается в названии клиента. При создании учетной записи Cryptopay запрашивает личные данные, что негативно сказывается на конфиденциальности пользователей.

Компания предоставляет клиентам Cryptopay предоплаченные дебетовые карты для покупки BTC и оплаты криптовалютой. Также есть партнерская программа для поощрения пользователей. Cryptopay поддерживает 4 криптовалюты: Bitcoin, Ethereum, Litecoin и Ripple, а также фиатные валюты. Основной недостаток криптокошелька – кастодиальность.

MetaMask

best-wallets-38

Кошелек MetaMask создан в виде расширения для браузера на базе Chrome и позволяет легко создать криптосчета. MetaMask – это ERC20-совместимый криптокошелек, который служит пользователям мостом между ними и децентрализованными приложениями (dApps). Плагин поддерживает Ethereum и любые токены, созданные на этой блокчейн-платформе. ETH-кошельки не поддерживают Bitcoin (BTC).

MetaMask поддерживает интеграцию аппаратных кошельков

MyEtherWallet

best-wallets-39

MyEtherWallet или MEW – один из самых популярных горячих Ethereum-кошельков, созданный разработчиками Ethereum. MEW поддерживает только эфир и ERC20-токены. Раньше интерфейс веб-клиента был достаточно сложным для новичков, но после обновления до 5-й версии его значительно упростили, о чем я писал в этой статье.

Одна из сильных сторон MyetherWallet – наличие мобильного приложения MEW Connect на iOS и Android, которое усиливает безопасность благодаря сопряжению браузерного клиента с мобильным устройством для двухэтапной авторизации. MEW позволяет интегрировать Trezor, Ledger, BitBox02 и KeepKey, и имеет русифицированный интерфейс.

MyCrypto

best-wallets-40

MyCrypto – браузерный ERC20-кошелек с открытым исходным кодом, созданный разработчиками из команды MEW в 2015 году. Подключиться к MyCpypto можно с помощью аппаратных кошельков, приложения Parity Signer, плагина MetaMask, а также некоторых других криптокошельков. Есть более безопасная десктопная версия криптокошелька.

С помощью MyCrypto пользователи могут управлять своим криптопортфелем и отслеживать статистику по нему. Раньше MyCrypto принадлежал MyEtherWallet, но потом команды разработчиков разделились и был создан отдельный криптокошелек для Ethereum и токенов, основанных на его платформе.