New York and BTC miners - what's wrong?

New York and BTC miners - what's wrong?

The cooler climate, as well as the availability of renewable energy sources in New York State, has led to it being called the best choice for American Bitcoin miners.

As recent studies show, about 20% of the American BTC hash rate is currently recorded in the state of New York. Kentucky is in second place with an indicator of 18,7%, Georgia is in third place with 17,3%, and Texas is in fourth place with a BTC hashrate in the United States of 14%.

The survey was conducted by Foundry USA, a digital asset mining and staking company, cryptopotato reports. Its goal was to find out which states American miners prefer to conduct their activities. This data was voiced by the co-founder of Castle Island Ventures Nick Carter, who noted that such a study is the first of its kind. He also explained that such a mechanic is much more effective for determining the states in which the main shares of mining are concentrated.

New York and BTC miners - what's wrong?

It should be borne in mind that Foundry does not include all mining farms in the country in its database. For example, the calculations did not take into account the data of the largest industry company Riot Blockchain, located in Texas. If included in the study, Carter explained, Texas would have a higher percentage. They do not use Foundry, so their hashrate is not counted towards the aggregate dataset.

It's worth noting that most of the top-ranked states are known as renewable energy hubs. For example, New York generates most of its electricity from hydroelectric power plants. In addition, a fairly cool climate prevails here. All this leads to the results of the study, according to which the state attracted the interest of almost 20% of American BTC miners.

Carter even drew attention to the fact that the production of the oldest cryptoasset in New York State is so low in terms of CO2 emissions that a ban on it could end up being more harmful to the environment, as, he said, such a ban could lead to an increase the carbon intensity of the BTC network as a whole.

According to a recent report, the United States is now responsible for over 35% of the world's BTC hashrate after China kicked all miners outside its borders.

Why is Texas only fourth?

Many experts believe that the 4th position in this study is too low for Texas, which deserves higher marks. There is a digital asset friendly policy, affordable energy prices and wind-generated electricity for crypto assessors.

In addition, the state boasts the location of major crypto mining companies, such as the aforementioned Riot Blockchain.

We have already said more than once that the ban on mining in China led to the fact that many miners changed their location and moved to other regions, among which Texas turned out to be one of the most attractive and tempting ones.

A similar opinion was voiced by the head of the Luxor Mining cryptocurrency mining pool, Alex Brammer, who called West Texas the most suitable region for mining. According to him, the championship in this race should belong to the region for a combination of serious capital, a significant area of ​​land and low prices for electricity.

Нью-Йорк и BTC-майнеры – что не так?

Нью-Йорк и BTC-майнеры – что не так?

Более прохладный климат, а также наличие возобновляемых источников энергии в штате Нью-Йорк привело к тому, что его стали называть лучшим выбором для американских Биткоин-майнеров.

Как показывают очередные проведенные исследования, около 20% американского BTC-хешрейта на данный момент фиксируется в штате Нью-Йорк. На втором месте по этому показателю находится штат Кентукки с показателем в 18,7%, третье место у Джорджии с 17,3%, а на четвертой строчке расположился штат Техас с хешрейтом BTC в США в 14%.

Опрос провела компания Foundry USA, которая занимается майнингом цифровых активов и стекингом, сообщает cryptopotato. Ее целью было выяснить, каким штатам американские майнеры отдают предпочтение для ведения своей деятельности. Озвучил эти данные  соучредитель Castle Island Ventures Ник Картер, который заметил, что подобное исследование – первое в своем роде. Он также пояснил, что подобная механика является гораздо более эффективной для определения штатов, в которых сконцентрированы основные доли майнинга.

Нью-Йорк и BTC-майнеры – что не так?

При этом стоит учитывать, что Foundry не включает в свою базу данных все майнинг-фермы страны. Так, например, при расчетах не учитывались данные крупнейшей отраслевой компании Riot Blockchain, расположенной в Техасе. Как пояснил Картер, если бы ее включили в исследование, то у Техаса был бы зафиксирован более высокий процент. Они не используют Foundry, поэтому их хешрейт не учитывается в совокупном наборе данных.

Стоит отметить, что большинство штатов, занимающих верхние строчки в статистике, известны как центры возобновляемой энергетики. Так, Нью-Йорк вырабатывает большую часть электроэнергии на гидроэлектростанциях. Кроме того, здесь господствует достаточно прохладный климат. Все это и приводит к результатам исследования, по которым штат привлек интерес практически 20% американских BTC-майнеров.

Картер даже обратил внимание на то, что добыча старейшего криптоактива в штате Нью-Йорк настолько низка по уровню выбросов CO2, что запрет на нее в итоге может оказаться более вредным для окружающей среды, так как, по его словам, такой запрет может привести к повышению углеродоемкости BTC-сети в целом.

Согласно недавнему отчету, Соединенные Штаты теперь отвечают за более чем 35% мирового хешрейта BTC после того, как Китай выгнал всех майнеров за пределы своих границ.

Почему Техас лишь четвертый?

Многие эксперты полагают, что 4 позиция в этом исследовании – слишком низкий показатель для Техаса, который заслуживает более высоких отметок. Здесь для криптоценителей есть и политика, дружественная к цифровым активам, и доступные цены на энергию, и электричество, вырабатываемое ветром.

Кроме того, штат может похвастаться расположением в нем крупных компаний по криптомайнингу: например, вышеупомянутой Riot Blockchain.

Мы уже не раз говорили о том, что запрет на майнинг в Китае привел к тому, что многие майнеры изменили свое местоположение и переместились в другие регионы, среди которых Техас оказался одним из наиболее привлекательных и заманчивых.

Подобное мнение озвучил и руководитель криптовалютного майнинг-пула Luxor Mining Алекс Браммер, который назвал Западный Техас наиболее подходящим регионом для майнинга. По его словам, первенство в этой гонке должно принадлежать региону за сочетание серьезного капитала, значительной площади земли и невысоких цен на электроэнергию.