Riot Blockchain Tests Antminer ASIC Immersion Cooling

Riot Blockchain Tests Antminer ASIC Immersion Cooling

Riot Blockchain is testing submerged cooling of ASIC miners to increase hashrate by 25-50%. The pilot project will be completed by the end of Q1 2022.

Mining company Riot Blockchain announced a plan to increase hashrate by 50% without additional purchases. This will use immersion cooling technology at the Whinstone facility in Texas.

The technology allows mining rigs to be immersed in a special liquid, in which they will operate at lower temperatures to avoid overheating. Placing of ASIC miners with immersion cooling will begin in the fourth quarter of 2021. For this, 200 MW of capacity from the planned 400 MW expansion will be used. The new technology will cool 46 Antminer S000.

The project is based on industry data and preliminary immersion cooling test results. According to preliminary tests, the initial hash rate increase is estimated at 25%, while potentially the ASIC performance can be raised even by 50%. The company intends to obtain more accurate results after the completion of the pilot project by the end of Q1 2022. If testing is successful, Riot Blockchain will be able to develop the infrastructure not only by purchasing new technology, but also by increasing the hash rate. This will increase the efficiency and profit from mining BTC.

This month, the company has already entered into an agreement with Bitmain for the supply of 2 Antminer S500 Pro ASIC miners worth $ 19 million. The devices will be delivered and installed in December, they should increase the hash rate from 6.1 Ph / s to 500 Eh / s.

Riot Blockchain тестирует иммерсионное охлаждение ASIC-майнеров Antminer

Riot Blockchain тестирует иммерсионное охлаждение ASIC-майнеров Antminer

Компания Riot Blockchain тестирует погружное охлаждение ASIC-майнеров, чтобы увеличить хэшрейт на 25–50%. Пилотный проект будет завершен к концу 1 квартала 2022 года.

Майнинговая компания Riot Blockchain анонсировала план по увеличению хэшрейта на 50% без дополнительных закупок. Для этого будет использована технология иммерсионного охлаждения на предприятии Whinstone в Техасе.

Технология позволяет погружать установки для майнинга в специальную жидкость, в которой они будут работать при более низких температурах, чтобы избежать перегрева. Размещение ASIC-майнеров с иммерсионным охлаждением начнется в четвертом квартале 2021 года. Для этого будут использованы 200 МВт мощности из запланированного расширения на 400 МВт. По новой технологии будут охлаждаться 46 000 Antminer S19.

Проект основан на данных отрасли и предварительных результатах испытаний погружного охлаждения. По предварительным тестам первоначальное увеличение хэшрейта оценивается в 25%, при этом потенциально производительность ASIC может быть поднята даже на 50%. Компания намерена получить более точные  результаты после завершения пилотного проекта к концу 1 квартала 2022 года. Если тестирование пройдет успешно, Riot Blockchain сможет развивать инфраструктуру не только за счет покупки новой техники, но и за счет увеличения скорости хэширования. Это увеличит эффективность и прибыль от добычи BTC.

В этом месяце компания уже заключила соглашение с Bitmain на поставку 2 500 ASIC-майнеров Antminer S19 Pro стоимостью $6.1 млн. Устройства будут доставлены и установлены в декабре, они должны увеличить мощность хэшрейта с 500 Пх/с до 2.3 Эх/с.