Vitalik Buterin - creator of Ethereum

Vitalik Buterin - creator of Ethereum

Creation of cryptocurrency and online platform Ethereum

“When I came up with Ethereum, my first thought was: this thing is too good to be true. There should have been at least five professional cryptographers who would have pounced on me, smashed me to smithereens, said that I had not noticed a bunch of obvious flaws. Two weeks later, I was extremely surprised that none of this happened. As it turns out, the basic idea behind Ethereum was good - fundamentally, completely. ” (c) Vitalik Buterin

The award received was enough to start working on Ethereum full time. Buterin attracted a friend, co-founder of Bitcoin Magazine Mihai Alesi, and several other strong developers - well-known members of the blockchain community to the project. They introduced the crypto platform and altcoin to the general public at the annual Bitcoin Conference in Miami. Vitalik personally described Ethereum from the stage. His speech ended with a standing ovation from the audience.

“When Buterin starts talking about blockchain, Stanford professors take out notebooks and take notes.” (c) Techcrunch

A few months later, the US business community awarded Buterin the World Technology Awards. Among the nominees was Mark Zuckerberg

The creators of the new cryptocurrency through crowdfunding collected approximately 31,6 thousand BTC (at that time $ 18,5 million) and with this money opened a non-profit organization Ethereum Foundation in Switzerland, which took control of the development of open source Ether software. The first ETH was mined on June 30, 2015.

Since its launch, Ethereum has evolved into a true ecosystem with thousands of developers: payments, banking, crowdfunding, Uber and Airbnb sharing, social media, reputation rankings. Some experts say that Ether is the future of the world economy.

What is the difference between Bitcoin and Ethereum?

"If Bitcoin is email, then Ethereum is the Internet itself." (c) Vitalik Buterin

For most people, there is no difference between Bitcoin and Ethereum - just competing firms or alternative options for digital money. But for those who are interested in the topic of cryptocurrencies and blockchain, there is a difference and it is quite big, to be more precise - fundamental. A few main differences:

  • for the "mining" of coins, super-powerful computers and mining farms are not required;
  • unlike Bitcoin, the volume and period of production is not limited and not finite;
  • Bitcoin was originally conceived as a payment and settlement system, and Ethereum as a platform for creating smart contract programs (small agreements not controlled by a third party), independent applications;
  • to transfer funds to Ethereum, you can set any conditions - lottery, casino, auction;
  • transaction speed Ethereum - 15 seconds, Bitcoin - 10 minutes

There is one more difference between the two cryptocurrencies - if bitcoin exists independently, then Ethereum is still directly related to the personality of the creator. So, after the fake message about the death of Buterin in a car accident, which appeared on the Internet on June 25, 2017, the market value of the altcoin fell down by $ 4 billion.The fall was stopped only by Vitalik's post on Twitter, which proved that he is alive and well.

Ethereum is now in second place in terms of unit price after Bitcoin. Over the year, the value of the cryptocurrency has risen by almost 95% and further growth is predicted. Analysts believe the reason for the takeoff is the announcement of the European Investment Bank on the creation of the first digital bond on the Ethereum platform and plans to issue such securities in the amount of EUR 100 million.

Vitalik Buterin's fortune exceeded $ 1 billion in cryptocurrency alone, it is known that he has shares in large IT companies and promising startups.

Some more interesting facts about the creator of Ethereum

“I met him recently on a commuter train, and he was wearing Hello Kitty multicolored socks. Believe it or not, this is the man who is building the infrastructure that challenges the power structures of the world's most important financial institutions. ” (c) Mike Perklin, Ledger Labs

  • Vitalik speaks fluent Mandarin Chinese, and learned the language, according to friends, in just a few months;
  • all personal belongings of a billionaire fit easily into one suitcase. He prefers funny T-shirts and funny watches to expensive purchases;
  • now Buterin lives permanently in Singapore;
  • in 2017, he was a guest of the International Economic Forum in St. Petersburg, talking face to face with President Putin about the digital economy and blockchain;
  • plays excellent chess and recently fought five-time Canadian champion Alexandra Botez. The girl won;
  • Vitalik avoids social networks, he does not have Instagram and Facebook pages, but he actively uses Twitter;
  • does not like social events, his personal life remains a secret;
  • leads a healthy lifestyle, does not consume alcohol, tobacco and other stimulants. Favorite drink - green tea with lemon;
  • In 2018, he refused to work on a possible Google crypto project, since, according to him, the company offered an intern's salary;
  • his main charity project is the SENS Research Foundation, an anti-aging research foundation, to which he donated $ 2,4 million;
  • he is still worried about communication in simple everyday situations, the young man is afraid to behave incorrectly or funny.

Of course, Vitalik Buterin was lucky in many ways. Parents saw talent in time, were able to direct it in the right direction and he was at the right time in the right place. But natural ability is nothing without a strong character, work, and desire to follow your path. If not for these qualities, perhaps our hero would have remained an unknown genius programmer in a large corporation.

Виталик Бутерин-создатель Ethereum

Виталик Бутерин-создатель Ethereum

Создание криптовалюты и онлайн-платформы Ethereum

“Когда я придумал Ethereum, первой мыслью было: эта вещь слишком хороша, чтобы быть правдой. Должны были найтись хотя бы пять профессиональных криптографов, которые обрушились бы на меня, разнесли в пух и прах, сказали, что я не заметил кучу очевидных недостатков. Две недели спустя я был крайне удивлен, что ничего этого не произошло. Как оказалось, основная идея Ethereum была хороша – фундаментально, полностью.” (с) Виталик Бутерин

Полученной премии хватило, чтобы начать заниматься Ethereum полный рабочий день. Бутерин привлек к проекту друга, соучредителя Bitcoin Magazine Михая Алеси и еще несколько сильных разработчиков – известных участников блокчейн-сообщества. Они представили криптоплатформу и альткоин широкой публике на ежегодной Bitcoin Conference в Майами. Виталик со сцены лично описал Ethereum. Его речь закончилась овациями зала.

“Когда Бутерин начинает говорить о блокчейне, профессора Стэнфорда достают блокноты и делают заметки.” (с) Techcrunch

Через несколько месяцев бизнес-сообщество США присудило Бутерину премию World Technology Awards. Среди номинантов был Марк Цукерберг

Создатели новой криптовалюты через краудфандинг собрали примерно BTC 31,6 тыс. (на тот момент $18,5 млн) и на эти деньги открыли в Швейцарии некоммерческую организацию Ethereum Foundation, которая взяла на себя контроль за разработкой ПО Эфира с открытым кодом. Первый ETH был добыт 30 июня 2015-го.

С момента запуска Ethereum силами тысяч разработчиков превратился в настоящую экосистему: платежи, банковское дело, краудфандинг, совместное пользование Uber и Airbnb, социальные сети, репутационные рейтинги. Некоторые эксперты заявляют, что за Эфиром – будущее мировой экономики.

В чем различие Bitcoin и Ethereum?

“Если Bitcoin – это электронная почта, то Ethereum – сам интернет.” (с) Виталик Бутерин

Для большинства людей между Bitcoin и Ethereum нет никакой разницы – просто конкурирующие фирмы или альтернативные варианты цифровых денег. Но для тех, кто интересуется темой криптовалют и блокчейна, разница есть и она довольно большая, если выразиться точнее – принципиальная. Несколько основных отличий:

  • для “добычи” монет не обязательны сверхмощные компьютеры и майнинговые фермы;
  • в отличие от Bitcoin объем и срок добычи не ограничен и не конечен;
  • Биткоин изначально задуман как система платежей и расчетов, а Ethereum – как платформа для создания программ смарт-контрактов (небольших соглашений, не контролируемых третьей стороной), независимых приложений;
  • для передачи средств в Ethereum можно ставить любые условия – лотерея, казино, аукцион;
  • скорость транзакции Ethereum – 15 секунд, Bitcoin – 10 минут

Есть и еще одно различие двух криптовалют – если биткоин существует независимо, то Ethereum пока напрямую связан с личностью создателя. Так, после фейкового сообщения о гибели Бутерина в автокатастрофе, которое появилось в интернете 25 июня 2017-го, рыночная стоимость альткоина рухнула вниз на $4 млрд. Падение остановил только пост Виталика в Twitter, который доказал, что он жив и здоров.

Сейчас Ethereum на втором месте по цене за единицу после Bitcoin. За год стоимость криптовалюты поднялась почти на 95% и прогнозируется дальнейший рост. Аналитики считают причиной взлета объявление Европейского Инвестиционного Банка о создании на платформе Ethereum первой цифровой облигации и о планах выпуска таких бумаг на сумму EUR 100 млн.

Состояние Виталика Бутерина превысило $1 млрд только в криптовалюте, известно, что у него есть акции крупных IT-компаний и перспективных стартапов.

Еще несколько интересных фактов о создателе Ethereum

“Я встретил его недавно в пригородном поезде, и на нем были разноцветные носки Hello Kitty. Сложно поверить, но именно этот человек строит инфраструктуру, которая бросает вызов властным структурам самых важных финансовых институтов в мире.” (с) Майк Перклин, Ledger Labs

  • Виталик бегло говорит на мандаринском диалекте китайского, причем выучил язык, как утверждают друзья, всего за несколько месяцев;
  • все личные вещи миллиардера легко помещаются в один чемодан. Дорогим покупкам он предпочитает забавные футболки и смешные часы;
  • сейчас Бутерин постоянно живет в Сингапуре;
  • в 2017-м он был гостем Международного Экономического Форума в Санкт-Петербурге, с глазу на глаз беседовал с Президентом Путиным о цифровой экономике и блокчейне;
  • прекрасно играет в шахматы и недавно сразился с пятикратной чемпионкой Канады Александрой Ботез. Девушка выиграла;
  • Виталик избегает соцсетей, у него нет страничек в Instagram и Facebook, но активно использует Twitter;
  • не любит светских мероприятий, его личная жизнь остается тайной;
  • ведет здоровый образ жизни, не употребляет алкоголь, табак и другие стимуляторы. Любимый напиток – зеленый чай с лимоном;
  • в 2018-м отказался работать над возможным криптопроектом Google, так как, по его словам, компания предложила оклад стажера;
  • главный объект благотворительной деятельности – SENS Research Foundation, исследовательский фонд борьбы со старением, в который он перечислил $2,4 млн;
  • ему по-прежнему доставляет беспокойство общение в простых житейских ситуациях, молодой человек боится повести себя неправильно или смешно.

Конечно, Виталику Бутерину во многом повезло. Родители вовремя разглядели талант, смогли направить его в правильное русло и он оказался в нужное время в нужном месте. Но природные способности – ничто без сильного характера, работы и желания следовать своему пути. Если бы не эти качества, возможно, наш герой так бы и остался никому не известным гениальным программистом в большой корпорации.